Weekly Commentary

Main content

Monday, April 22, 2019

Global stock markets delivered mixed results for the week. U.S. indexes mostly gained on macro-driven trading, but small caps lagged.

Monday, April 15, 2019

Global stocks had a choppy week, with gains in the United States, losses in Asia and a mixed bag in Europe.

Monday, April 8, 2019

Global stocks racked up a week of quiet gains without many catalysts. The S&P 500 index finished higher for its seventh straight session, chalking up 11 weeks of gains in the 14 weeks so far this year.

Monday, April 1, 2019

Global stocks sounded an upbeat note, ending a volatile stretch with gains for the week and first quarter of 2019.

Monday, March 25, 2019

Global stocks sold off sharply for the week; investors fled for the exits as warning lights flashed from the bond markets.

Monday, March 18, 2019

Stock markets rallied for the week, with the major U.S. indexes nearing their highest levels of the year.

Monday, March 11, 2019

Global stock markets posted losses as China‒U.S. trade negotiations wobbled and the economic outlook for Europe worsened.

Monday, March 4, 2019

Global stocks were mixed for the week, with U.S. markets generally down.

Monday, February 25, 2019

U.S. stocks gained for a ninth straight week despite a day off for President’s day. Markets tumbled on Thursday but regrouped on Friday to focus on signs of progress toward a U.S.‒China trade deal.

Tuesday, February 19, 2019

Stock markets surmounted the “wall of worry” as investors shifted into “risk-on” mode. As a result, most major global indexes posted gains.

Pages

Footer content