Weekly Commentary

Main content

Monday, May 14, 2018

Stocks posted strong weekly gains as investors bet that inflation and interest rates would stay contained.

Monday, May 7, 2018

Stock markets sustained another week of volatility with mixed results across Asian, European and U.S. bourses.

Monday, April 30, 2018

Stocks had a choppy, mixed week: Asian and European bourses saw gains but U.S. markets declined. The 10-year U.S. Treasury yield breached 3%, settling at 2.96%.

Monday, April 23, 2018

Stocks had a choppy week but posted modest gains as first-quarter earnings mostly met expectations.

Monday, April 16, 2018

Heavy news flow drove a volatile week but stocks posted decent gains. Middle East tensions boosted oil prices and gold gained luster on signs of inflation.

Monday, April 9, 2018

Investors experienced another turbulent week and seem to be bracing for more volatility with the VIX index rising 72% since the beginning of the year.

Monday, April 2, 2018

Global stock markets staged a choppy recovery as fears of a trade war abated. The gains, however, were not enough to offset accumulated losses for the quarter.

Monday, March 26, 2018

Stocks had their worst week in two years, as fears of a trade war sent investors running for the exits.

Monday, March 19, 2018

Media commentary seemingly continued to cue equity markets as major U.S. indexes finished the week lower. Gold lost ground and oil climbed. The U.S. Treasury note finished the period at approximately 2.85%.

Monday, March 12, 2018

The S&P 500, Dow Jones and Nasdaq all finished the week higher. Oil and gold dipped and the 10-year U.S. Treasury note finished the period at approximately 2.90%.

Pages

Footer content