Weekly Commentary

Main content

Monday, September 17, 2018

Stocks around the globe posted gains as strong U.S. data continued to undergird global economic expansion.

Monday, September 10, 2018

Stocks retreated around the globe after reports the Trump administration might impose more tariffs on Chinese goods; and after strong U.S. jobs growth cemented the likelihood of steadily rising U.S. interest rates.

Media Appearance: Doug was on CNBC today discussing the state of the markets and the economy.

Tuesday, September 4, 2018

Upbeat economic and earnings news propelled stocks higher, but tariff concerns led to a partial pullback.

Monday, August 27, 2018

U.S. stocks ended an otherwise meandering week on a high note after Fed Chair said strong U.S. economic fundamentals warranted plans to raise rates gradually.

Monday, August 20, 2018

U.S. stocks overcame an early pullback driven by Turkish currency weakness, rallying on upbeat U.S. earnings and economic news.

Monday, August 13, 2018

Stocks took a leg down for the week. With 2Q18 earnings season nearly over, there were few counter-narratives to tariff issues and the shadow Turkish financial instability cast over world markets.

Monday, August 6, 2018

U.S. indexes were mostly up but Asia and Europe were mostly down. Second-quarter earnings remained supportive, trade tensions dragged on sentiment.

Monday, July 30, 2018

Stocks showed mixed results for the week — large caps outpaced the tech-heavy NASDAQ and small caps.

Monday, July 23, 2018

It was a week of maximal noise and minimal signal, as stocks gyrated on the news but finished the week about where they started.

Monday, July 16, 2018

Markets mostly gained for the week as investors bet on upcoming earnings news, ignoring trade tensions and President Trump’s NATO provocations.

Pages

Footer content