Weekly Commentary

Main content

Monday, March 18, 2019

Stock markets rallied for the week, with the major U.S. indexes nearing their highest levels of the year.

Monday, March 11, 2019

Global stock markets posted losses as China‒U.S. trade negotiations wobbled and the economic outlook for Europe worsened.

Monday, March 4, 2019

Global stocks were mixed for the week, with U.S. markets generally down.

Monday, February 25, 2019

U.S. stocks gained for a ninth straight week despite a day off for President’s day. Markets tumbled on Thursday but regrouped on Friday to focus on signs of progress toward a U.S.‒China trade deal.

Tuesday, February 19, 2019

Stock markets surmounted the “wall of worry” as investors shifted into “risk-on” mode. As a result, most major global indexes posted gains.

Monday, February 11, 2019

A fairly uneventful week ended with slight gains. U.S. economic resilience and the Federal Reserve’s recent pivot on its expected path of interest rate hikes were supportive of equities.

Monday, February 4, 2019

Global stock markets heated up despite the winter deep-freeze, stoked by the hot job market, positive earnings news and the Federal Reserve standing pat on interest rates.

Monday, January 28, 2019

Stock markets had mixed results during a holiday-shortened trading week. Asian and European bourses saw mixed results; U.S. markets achieved slight gains.

Tuesday, January 22, 2019

Markets gained for the fourth consecutive week, notching the biggest four-week gain since October 2011.

Monday, January 14, 2019

Global stocks continued their gains from the previous week, despite easing during Friday’s session and jitters over disappointing holiday sales.

Pages

Footer content